Mizoram election result 2023: ZPM set to form government; CM Zoramthanga loses

Aizawl (Agency): The Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) crossed the halfway mark having already won 12 seats and leading in 15 others as votes were being counted for assembly elections on Monday, according to the Election Commission (EC). The ruling MNF has won two seats and was leading in eight others, but several of its senior leaders were either trailing or have already lost.

Mizoram has 40 assembly seats, and 21 is the majority mark. Deputy CM Tawnluia lost to ZPM candidate W Chhuanawma in the Tuichang seat by a margin of 909 votes.

The counting of votes polled in the assembly elections in Mizoram began at 8am on Monday amid tight security, officials said. Additional Chief Electoral Officer H Lianzela told that the counting was being held in 13 centres across the state.

The counting was supposed to happen on Sunday along with Madhya Pradesh, Rajasthan, Chhattisgarh and Telangana. However, it was deferred by the Election Commission following appeals by political parties, NGOs, churches and students’ bodies as Sunday holds a special significance for the people of Mizoram, a Christian-majority state.Postal ballots were being counted first, and from 8.30 am, the votes polled in the EVMs will be counted, Lianzela said. Besides three counting centres in the Aizawl district, which has 12 assembly constituencies, one centre each has been set up in the 10 other districts, he said.

Counting is expected to begin at 8 am in all 13 counting centers and 40 counting halls across the state, with postal ballots being counted first, followed by votes polled in EVMs. Over 4,000 counting personnel will be involved, and there will be 399 EVM tables and 56 postal ballot tables, officials added.Mizoram assembly voting was held peacefully on November 7, with a voter turnout of over 80 percent recorded.

According to the Chief Electoral Officer’s Office, 81.25 percent of female voters participated, while male voters recorded 80.04 percent. Overall, 80.66 percent of the total 8.52 lakh voters in the state exercised their franchise to decide the electoral fate of 174 candidates. Among all 11 districts of the state, Serchhip district recorded the highest voter turnout at 84.78 percent, followed by Mamit district with 84.65 percent, Hnahthial district with 84.19 percent, and Lunglei district with 83.68 percent. A total of 174 candidates, including 18 female candidates, were in the fray.

The ruling Mizo National Front (MNF), the main opposition party Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM), and Congress contested 40 seats each, while BJP and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) tried their luck in 23 and 4 seats, respectively. There were also 27 independent candidates.

According to exit polls, Mizoram National Front (MNF) and Zoram People’s Movement (ZPM) are expected to have a close competition, with some agencies giving the edge to MNF and others to the opposition ZPM.

Meanwhile, MNF is predicted to win 13-18 seats, and ZPM 15-25, according to the poll of polls. Also, Congress is expected to win 5-7 seats, while BJP is projected to secure 0-2 seats. The polls also predict a hung assembly rather than a clear majority.In the last assembly polls held in 2018, MNF had bagged 26 seats, and ZPM won 8 seats, relegating Congress, which won 5, while BJP secured just one seat. (Courtesy: The Times of India)