Dr Surpriya Hawaibam bags Asia Pacific Ophthamology award
Dr Surpriya Hawaibam

TMB Report
Imphal: Noted eye specialist Dr Surpriya Hawaibam from the State, along with 44 ophthalmologists from across the whole Asia-Pacific countries, has bagged the prestigious Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) achievement award.
Surpriya was honoured for making “good contributions to the scientific programme of the APAO Congresses for the last five years in the form of paper presentation, video presentation, poster presentation etc,” she said.
Fellow in Orbit, Oculoplasty and Ocular oncology and former consultant of Sri Sankraradeva Nethralaya, Guwahati, she bagged the award at the four-day long 38th edition of APAO Congress held at Kaula Lumpur, Malaysia ending February 26.
Icing on the cake, Surpriya also won the most popular video award as a co- author in the Congress.
Surpriya is the present medial director of Eastern Eye Foundation & Research Center, Porompat in Imphal East, while her husband Dr Soibam Ronel, also an eminent ophthalmologist, is heading the centre as Chairman and Managing Director.
Surpriya is a professional member of various bodies, including International Society of Manual Small Incision Cataract Surgeons, All India Ophthalmological Society, Oculoplastic Association of India and All Assam Ophthalmological Society, she added.
The lady doctor has also given hordes of presentations at various seminars at the national and international levels.
In the international level seminars, she bagged various awards. Surpriya, who did her MBBS from GR Medical College, Gwalior, post graduate (DNB ophthalmology) and Fellowship in Oculoplasty from Sri Sankaradeva Nethralaya Guwahati, also published papers as chief and co-authors.
Notably, Dr Ronel was among a few doctors of the country who were honoured with the “International Opthalmic Heroes of India” by the All India Ophthalmological Society (AIOS) at the society’s Dreamcon Annual Conference held in Mumbai, in June last year.
AIOS feted Ronel , who specialized in Vitreo-Retina, for winning the Asia Pacific Academy of Ophthalmology (APAO) achievement award held in Hong Kong in September 2020.