CM proposes opening of aero sports facility
CM proposes opening of aero sports facility

Imphal (DIPR): Chief Minister N. Biren Singh has proposed opening of a permanent aero sports facility after exploring its feasibility and finding a suitable location.

The Chief Minister was speaking as the Chief Guest of the closing function of the 1st North East Aero-Sports Hot Air Balloons and Para-Motor Fiesta, 2023 at Phubala on Thursday. The event inaugurated on February 11 is organised by the Manipur Aero Sports Association (MASA) in association with Khasia Ventures and sponsored by the Tourism Department, Government of Manipur with Technical Support from Adventure Wing, Indian Army.

He thanked the Indian Army, who provided technical support through its Adventure Wing to the event, and further highlighted that Manipur is suitable for such adventure sports activities.

Further acknowledging the Army’s contribution in safeguarding the nation, Biren also highlighted that Manipur produces the highest number of defense officers per capita of the population, may be next only to Punjab.

Today, Manipur is also becoming a tourist hotspot, the Chief Minister said, highlighting the INA Headquarter at Moirang, Sangai Ethnic Park and the upcoming G-20 events in the State.

Biren also appealed to the people along the highway to accord a warm and traditional welcome to the visiting delegates of the G-20 event which will include 50 foreign delegates.

The closing function was also attended by Ministers Govindas Konthoujam, L. Susindro Meitei, MP (Rajya Sabha) Maharajah Leishemba Sanajaoba, Moirang MLA Th Shanti, LDA Chairman M. Asnikumar, officials of the 57 Mountain Division among others.

Earlier, in the morning the Chief Minister inspected the Sangai Ethnic Park at Moirang Khunou and Heritage Site INA Headquarter at Moirang. The park is a major destination of the G-20 delegates, who will be reaching the State on Friday.

Biren also attended a ribbon cutting ceremony of the Loktak Lake Front at Sendra. The Chief Minister was accompanied by Ministers Govindas Konthoujam, L. Susindro Meitei, Moirang MLAs Th Shanti, T. Robindro, LDA Chairman M. Asnikumar, Chief Secretary Dr. Rajesh Kumar, Administrative Secretaries among others.