Cabinet okays renaming of 15 revenue villages in Jiribam
Cabinet okays renaming of 15 revenue villages in Jiribam

TMB Report

Imphal: The State Cabinet on Tuesday has approved the renaming of 15 revenue villages in Jiribam district.

IPR Minister Dr Sapam Ranjan, while briefing reporters at his office chamber at New Secretariat after the cabinet meeting, said that Tuesday’s cabinet meeting gave nod to the proposed names for 15 villages in the Jiribam district.

Bakhal in Dibong GP will be renamed as Ningthemkhunjao, Kadamtala as Kadampokpi, Champanagar Meitei as Leihaopokpi, Patchao as Chingdong Leikai, Boroikhal as Khongjao, Sabughat as Sabuthokpi, Babukhal as Chingkoipung, Narando Basa as Leingangpokpi, Gularthol as Samupunbi, Hilghat as Lamlen Atingbi, Bidyanagar as Maheikhullen, Harinagar as Lamnoupokpi, Uchathol as Lamdangkhun, Kamranga as Khuningthek and Sorok Atingbi Khunou as Khunou.

The Cabinet meeting held at the Chief Minister’s Secretariat with CM Biren Singh in the chair discussed as many as 39 agendas and 10 unlisted agendas.

The Cabinet meeting also decided to constitute a cell for Banning of Unregulated Deposit Scheme (BUDS) in view of the increasing trend of looting public deposits/investment by certain micro-finance companies. An assistant director and one UDC will be engaged to strengthen the institutional finance.

The Cabinet has approved to recruit 1140 pre-primary teachers and 500 graduate teachers under SSA. 90 percent of fund will be borne by the Centre and 10 percent by the state for it. The Cabinet also approved for the creation of 77 posts for seven new District Welfare Offices.

50 more acres of land will be procured on direct purchase on the western and southern side of Sangai Ethnic Park, Moirang Khunou in order to expand and upgrade the park, the Minister divulged.

The Cabinet also has approved re-engagement of service for some employees on the basis of their experience and their service requirement. Re-engagement of three employees of Taxation Department namely Th. Agang Kabui, Th. Brojendro Singh and E. Kamal Singh has been approved. Controller of the Household, Raj Bhawan, N. Nilamani, will be re-engaged for one year. EE of RD & PR, Kh. Rajendra Singh will be absorbed as EE, MOBEDS which was on deputation to MOBEDS from RD&PR.

It also approved the proposal for service extension of contractual engagement of two retired Group A employees of MSPCL in the grade of Executive Director and General Manager. Proposal for the engagement of three Legal Assistants in the office of the Ld. Advocate General of Manipur was also approved, the Minister conveyed.

The Cabinet further approved constituting Kaina Temple Board to look after and manage the affairs of the temple. It also approved recruitment of nine cluster managers and one clinical service officer of Manipur State Aids Control Society (MACS) to be fully funded by National Aids Control Society. The meeting further approved Manipur Drone Policy as well, he added.

The Cabinet also decided to implement the Vehicle Scraping Policy in the State. An automatic testing centre will be set up in the state. Vehicles which are more than 15 years will be scrapped. Old vehicles are not safe for driving. To check frequent road mishaps, reduce vehicle population, traffic congestion etc, vehicle scrapping policy is implemented, he said.

Under Chief Minister’s Vocal to Local initiative, he said that the meeting approved Manipur Procurement Policy that will give more preference to Make in Manipur. Local products will be given more preference in procurement.

With regard to the ongoing cease work strike spearheaded by All Manipur Health Services Doctor Association (AMHSDA), the Minister appealed to the doctors to withdraw the agitation in larger interest of the patients and people of the State.

He said that the government is trying its best to fulfil the charter of demands raised by the doctors association as far as practicable.