<strong>Wangoi bye-election peaceful as 12 COVID-19 positive patients cast votes </strong>

Wangoi bye-election peaceful as 12 COVID-19 positive patients cast votes

DIPR/ TMB Report

Imphal: The Bye-Election in 22-Wangoi A/C which was conducted today from 7:00 am to 5:00 pm ended peacefully with a high turn-out of electors at almost all the polling stations within the assembly constituency. 92.60 percent poll was recorded till the time of filling this report.

Based on the poll percentage received from the Returning Officer by the Media Cell, a poll percentage of 8.77% was recorded in the first two hours of voting, which gradually increased to 31.50 %  at 11 AM, 53.29 % at 1PM and 75.23% at 3PM. However, a sharp rise in polling was recorded in the last two hours of voting resulting to a high polling percentage of over ninety percent by completion of the voting hour which ended at 5:00 PM.

The high point of the Bye-Election amid the current Covid-19 pandemic was the casting of votes by 12 Covid-19 patients at different polling stations within the Wangoi A/C. As per the guidelines of the Election Commission of India, Covid-19 patients who are quarantined can cast their votes in the last hour of polling under the supervision of health authorities. PPEs (Personal Protective Equipment) were provided to every Covid-19 positive voters before entering the polling booth adhering to ECI guidelines. Following the guidelines for a Covid-19 safe election, safety measures were taken up at each polling station. Every voter was provided hand-glove and body temperature of each was checked before the entry of polling booth for casting votes.

Three candidates namely Shri Oinam Lukhoi Singh of BJP, Shri Salam Joy Singh of INC and NPP candidate Shri Khuraijam Loken Singh are vying for 22-Wangoi A/C seat.  The result of the Bye-Election will be declared on 10th November, 2020.

The Bye-Elections to 22-Wangoi A/C, 30-Lilong A/C, 34-Wangjing-Tentha A/C and 51-Saitu A/C (ST) are being conducted simultaneously after the resignation of sitting MLAs of these ACs recently. For the vacant seat of 60-Singhat A/C (ST), BJP candidate Shri Ginsuanhau Zou @ GS Haupu was elected unopposed after Independent candidate Shri Chinlunthang withdrew his nomination before the poll.

Close Menu