TNFO raises issue on non-disbursement of food grains under NFSA

TNFO raises issue on non-disbursement of food grains under NFSA

TMB Report

IMPHAL: The Tangkhul Naga Foothills’ Organization (TNFO), Manipur has submitted a memorandum to the Chief Secretary of Manipur regarding the non-disbursement of food grains under NFSA for the month of July 2020 and unlawful deduction of 30 percent of food grains from the allotted allocations meant for the beneficiaries under Kangpokpi district.

In a memorandum of TNFO signed by its president Turner Raihing, it was stated that in view of the ‘rampant corruption in distribution of National Food Security Act (NFSA)’ and on behalf of the 27 villages of Saikul and Island sub-divisions in particular and other villages under Kangpokpi district and Manipur in general, the organization was placing the complaint before chief secretary to draw his attention for immediate and necessary prompt action thereof.

Whereas under the guidelines of NFSA, 2013 (also right to food Act) converts into legal entitlements for existing food security programmers of the government of India which includes the Mid-Day meal scheme Integrated Child Development Services (ICDS) scheme and the Public Distribution System (PDS) under the provisions of the bill, beneficiaries of the PDS are entitled to 5kg (PHH) per person per month and entitlement of existing AAY household will be protected at 35kgs per household per month at the rate of Rs. 3 per kg.

The Hon’ble Prime Minister of Indian introduced Pradhan Mantri Kalyan AnnaYojna (PMGKAY) scheme as a food security welfare scheme on March 26, 2020 in waging the war against Covid-19 pandemic and the same was extended till the month of November 2020. This scheme aims to feed the poorest citizens of India by providing grain through the public distribution system to all the priority household (Ration card holders and those identified by the antyodaya Anna Yojana Scheme) providing 5kg of rice or wheat per person and 1kg of pulse to each family holding a ration card at each at free of cost every month till November 2020.

Accordingly, the beneficiaries of the 27 villages in question have been availing the benefits of both the NFSA and PMGKAY till the month of June, 2020 without any break since March. However, to all surprise the concerned department under Kangpokpi district has stopped providing food grains under NFSA for the month of July without any rhyme and reason thereby depriving the “Right to Food” of the deserving beneficiaries.

That in furtherance, the concerned department has also deducted 30 percent of the total allocation of food grains under NFSA/PMGKAY. The action and inaction of the concerned department deducting 30% of food grains meant for the poor villages is not sustainable in the eyes of the law and for which, the department is liable to answer the public and

punishable under relevant law.

It is also to state that the Rationing Agents were provided only temporary slip with no specification of month at the event of depositing cash thereby giving rooms for rampant manipulation and malpractices in the public distribution system. In fact the rationing Agent shall have to provide with original challan specifying the month for the deposited


In the light of the above facts and circumstances it is prayed and firmly believed that concern authority will uphold the sanctity of the office and do justice by delivering all the due benefits and reach to all the deserving beneficiaries under NFSA 2013 and to booked all the erring officials involved in the rampant corruption at the earliest possible date, failing which TNFO will compelled to go to the Law of Court for deliverance of early justice.

President of TNFO listed out the name of villages in Kangpokpi district; 23 villages in Island block namely Irong Kongleiram, Irong Tangkhul, Komlaching, Keihao, Tangkhul Khullen, Heinganglok, Sada Khumpi, Ngarumphung, Sada Lungthar, Silent, Happyland, South Loushing, Tongrei, Laikoiching, Soplang, New Salem, Island Ato, Resophung, Island Aze, Leishiphung, Thangchingpokpi, Soraland and Somrei including four villages from Saikul block Mapao Thangal, Mapao Khullen, Hongmahn and Mapao Zingtun.

Close Menu