NPP to continue supporting BJP coalition govt; ministerial posts to be restored for 4 NPP MLAs

NPP to continue supporting BJP coalition govt; ministerial posts to be restored for 4 NPP MLAs

TMB Report

IMPHAL: National president of National People’s Party (NPP) and Chief Minister of Meghalaya Conrad Sangma on Thursday announced that all the four NPP ministers, who had severed ties with the BJP-led coalition government in Manipur, will withdraw their resignations and restore support to the government.

The U-turn in NPP stand came after BJP national chief JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah reportedly assured a NPP team in Delhi that they will personally look into the prevailing political upheaval in the state.

Dissatisfied with the N Biren government, four NPP ministers namely deputy chief minister Y Joykumar, L Jayentakumar, Letpao Haokip and N Kaysii recently resigned, putting the survival of the coalition government on tenterhooks.

To salvage the political crisis in the Government, BJP’s troubleshooter in the North East Himanta Biswa Sarma, who is also convener of NEDA, NPP national president and also Chief Minister of Meghalaya Conrad Sangma plunged into action and took the four NPP MLAs to Delhi by a charter flight on Wednesday to meet BJP national chief JP Nadda and Union Home Minister Amit Shah.

After meeting with the BJP leaders in the national capital, the 4 MLAs of NPP returned to Imphal on Thursday at about 12.30 PM, accompanied by NEDA convener Himanta Biswa Sarma and Conrad Sangma.

Upon arrival at BT International Airport in Imphal, NPP leader Conrad Sangma told reporters that a team led by him met BJP national president JP Nadda and Home Minister Amit Shah on Wednesday and apprised the two leaders about the grievances and concerns the NPP was having out here as a party in the alliance. NPP expressed all their concerns in details to which both the saffron leaders patiently heard and acknowledged fully. They assured that they will be personally looking into the concerns and grievances of NPP and all the issues and concerns would be addressed and taken care of. As such, NPP decided to withdraw their resignation and to continue supporting the coalition Government, he informed.

Replying to a query whether NPP has withdrawn from the newly formed Congress led SPF alliance, Mr Sangma said, “Obviously. We have withdrawn from that. Now we are heading to the Governor straight to submit a letter expressing our support to the BJP led coalition Government again.

Revealing that all four NPP Ministers who resigned from Biren Government will continue as ministers, Sangma, however, said that there will be some changes in their portfolios.   

Replying to a query about NPP’s agenda in re-supporting the BJP Government, Sangma said that NPP has been a partner of BJP Government and the party wants to continue this friendship with BJP. When the differences within the BJP-NPP alliances surfaced regarding the style of functioning of the Government, we took the matter to BJP Central leadership who assured to tackle and address all the issues and concerns personally. NPP now has decided to continue support to ensure stability of the Government in the larger interest of the people of Manipur, he added.

Meanwhile, a delegation of NPP led by Conrad Sangma along with BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma met the Governor of Manipur today and the 4 NPP MLAs submitted letter of support to BJP led coalition Government in the state.   

Close Menu