NPP lays out 7 seasons for withdrawing support from state government

NPP lays out 7 seasons for withdrawing support from state government

TMB Report

 IMPHAL: The National Peoples’ Party (NPP), Manipur Unit has on Sunday put up seven reasons why the party’s legislators withdrew support to the present BJP-led state government headed by N. Biren Singh while India is facing a Covid-19 pandemic.

In a press release signed by president of NPP Manipur Unit Thangminlien Kipgen, the party listed the absence of a steering committee to guide the course of the government through a platform to make collective decision. The BJP-led government in Manipur was formed in 2017 with five political parties. But till today, N. Biren Singh led Government is running in an autocratic manner and the chief minister refuses to form a steering committee in order to bring confidence amongst the coalition partners in the Government despite our repeated reminder to him, the release said.

In addition, it mentioned that at the time of formation of government in March, 2017, the NPP had proposed the drafting of a Common Minimum Programme for the development of the state of Manipur on priority basis. However, it could not be materialized inspite of repeated reminder to the Chief Minister.

Every political party has its own political ideology and identity. However, coalition government of five political parties should be christened by a name of the coalition front. The senior partner did not take heed and turned a deaf ear, according to the NPP.

The NPP also charged that after the formation of BJP led government in 2017, the latter had forgotten the existence of NPP and the role they played during the formation of BJP led government in 2017. There was no consultation of NPP while taking any major decision for the state by BJP. Even, invitations were not serve to the party leaders at national or state functions.

Regarding the allotment of ministerial portfolio, the party was neither consulted nor informed with regards to allotment/removal of portfolios to the ministers of “my Party where deputy Chief Minister Y. Joykumar to be cited as an example being discharged off his duties as Deputy-Chief Minister without portfolio for the last few months which will remained as a record in the history of Manipur.”

At the same time, the party took reservation at the statement of S. Rajen Singh, Spokesperson of BJP and legislator against NPP ministers and mentioned it as one of the reason behind the decision to withdraw from the government. The statement of S. Rajen Singh, with regards to the distribution of rice under National Food Security Act (NFSA) which led to an altercation with the Deputy Chief Minister, the verbal and un-parliamentarian language he used (if you have the guts all 4 (four) ministers must resigned from the Ministry) was highly objectionable/condemnable. Inspite of his accusation, he remained silent and practices restraint to safeguard the coalition spirit, the release stated.

“As partners in the BJP led Government, headed by N. Biren Singh, my party was not invited/consulted to share our views/ideas to decide on a consensus candidate of 2017 Rajya Sabha election, 2019 Lok-Sabha Election and in the recently concluded Rajya Sabha election, 2020. This authoritarian style/functioning of the present Government is autocratic and undemocratic.

Therefore, taking all the above issues into account, my party finally decided to withdraw our support to BJP Government in the State,” added the statement.

Close Menu