Decks cleared for by-poll in 4 Assembly Constituencies; polling personnel reached stations

Decks cleared for by-poll in 4 Assembly Constituencies; polling personnel reached stations

Two PS in Wangjing-Tentha to be manned by only woman Poll personnel

TMB Report

IMPHAL: Preparations for the by-polls in the four Assembly constituencies; scheduled to be held on Saturday (November 7), have been completed. Polling officials and security personnel have already reached their respective polling stations for smooth conduct of the by-poll, official sources said. 

The by-polls will be held in four Assembly constituencies, viz. 30-Lilong, 34-Wangjing-Tentha, 22-Wangoi and 51-Saitu.

Altogether 1,33,136 voters comprising of 64,181 male voters, 67,182 female voters, 1765 service voters and eight third genders will cast their votes in 203 polling stations spreading across the four Assembly constituencies.

Nine polling personnel comprising of five polling officials, one Booth Level officer, two paramedical staff and one videographer will be deployed in every polling booths. A total of 1827 polling personnel are being deployed for smooth conduct of the by-poll.

As precautionary measures of COVID-19, ASHA workers and Anganwadi workers will be deployed in every polling station to distribute face masks, hand gloves and hand sanitisers.

According to Our Thoubal Correspondent, Polling officials and security personnel in Thoubal district have reached their polling stations in Lilong AC and Wangjing-Tentha AC, where by-polls are to be held tomorrow. They left Thoubal mini Secretariat beginning from 8 AM on Friday. 

460 Polling officials, 368 polling assistants and 1500 security personnel have been deployed in 90 polling stations covering Lilong AC and Wangjing-Tentha AC.

Of the total 90 polling station in the two ACs, eight Polling stations are hypersensitive and one is critical, an official sources said necessary security personnel have been deployed in the area to prevent any unwanted incidents during the polling.

In Wangjing-Tentha AC, two Polling stations will be manned by woman polling personnel, apart from two model polling stations having been identified.

Altogether 31,662 voters comprising of 15,053 male voters, 16,160 female voters and 449 service voters will cast their votes in 43 polling stations spreading across Wangjing-Tentha AC.

For Wangjing-Tentha by-poll, ex-minister Moirangthem Hemanta of INC, ex-MLA Paonam Brojen and former IPS officer Sarangthem Manaobi (Independent) are in the fray.

Ex-MLA Paonam Brojen, who is contesting as a BJP candidate was elected from  Wangjing-Tentha AC in the last State Assembly election 2017 on Congress ticket. But he also resigned from the post of MLA and from the primary membership of Congress to support the BJP coalition in the state.

In Lilong AC by-poll, altogether 32,750 voters comprising of 15,877 male voters, 16,518 female voters, three voters of third gender and 352 service voters will cast votes in 48 polling stations.

Three aspirants namely Md Azizul Haque Khan of INC, ex-minister Md Abdul Nasir (Indpendent) and Y Antas Khan (Independent) are in the fray for Lilong by-poll.

It is speculated that the trio will have a tough fight in the said AC.

Notably, Ex-minister Md Abdul Nasir who is contesting the election as an Independent candidate was elected as MLA from Lilong AC in the last State Assembly election 2017 on Congress ticket. But he resigned from the post of MLA and from the primary membership of Congress to support the BJP coalition in the state, which was in trouble due to Congress onslaught to topple the Government.

Meanwhile, District Election Officer/Deputy Commissioner, Thoubal Nongmaithem Bandana, IAS has appealed to the voters of Wangjing-Tentha AC and Lilong AC to come out in large number to exercise their franchise freely and without any fear.

Talking to reporters, DC N. Bandana appealed to the voters to maintain the prescribed COVID-19 SOP which includes wearing face masks, using hand sanitisers and maintainibg physical distancing while voting in their polling stations.

She said that District election officer has made preparations to provide face masks and handgloves to the voters who turn up at the polling stations. All voters will undergo thermal scanning, she added.

In 22-Wangoi AC, altogether 28,135 voters including 13,677 male voters, 14,192 voters, 265 service voters and one voter of third gender community will cast votes at 41 polling stations.

Three candidates; ex-MLA Salam Joy of INC, incumbent Agriculture Minister Oinam Lukhoi of BJP and Khuraijam Loken of NPP are in the fray. According to political analysts, the trio is likely to have a close fight as Oinam Lukhoi beat his close rival candidate Khuraijam Loken by a narrow margin of just 37 votes in the last State Assembly election 2017. Salam Joy also bagged maximum numbers of votes.

Notably, Minister Lukhoi, who is contesting the by-poll on BJP ticket, was elected from Wangoi AC on a Congress ticket in the last State Assembly election 2017 but he too switched allegiance to BJP government.

In 51-Saitu AC, altogether 40,589 voters comprising of 19,574 male voters, 20,312 female voters, 699 service voters and four voters of third gener community will cast votes at 70 polling stations.

Only two candidates; Ngamthang Haokip of BJP and Lamtinthang Haokip of INC are in the fray for Saitu by-Poll.

The election is billed as an acid test for Chief Minister N Biren led BJP coalition in the state which is heading to compete 4 years term.

Kangpokpi all set for Saitu Bye-Election

With Saturday being the poll day for Bye-Election at 51-Saitu AC, all necessary requirements have been all set as polling personnel were dispersed from DEO/DC Office Kangpokpi on Friday.

Around 525 polling personnel were dispersed with approximately 113 vehicles to monitoring the voting in 70 polling stations where there are 40,257 eligible voters out of which 19,755 are male voters and 20,498 are female voters apart from 4 other voters.

Out of the 70 polling stations, 17 polling stations are identified as critical and 7 polling station are identified as vulnerable while the remaining 46 polling stations are identified as normal.

The identified critical polling stations are 51/13 L. Simol, 51/14 Saitu, 51/18 Motbung (A), 51/19 Motbung (B), 51/21 Motbung (D), 51/24 Pangmol(B), 51/27 Charhajare(B), 51/30 Phailengkot, 51/31 Khengjang(A), 51/32 Khengjang(B), 51/38 Leimakhong Mission, 51/39 Kangchup, 51/43 Ireng, 51/44 Longa Koireng, 51/49 Veitum Khullen, 51/53 Tingkai Khullen, 51/63 Makhan(A) while 51/3 Mayangkhang, 51/7 Songpehjang, 51/11 Saparmeina(A), 51/28 Charhajare(C), 51/41 Haraothel, 51/59 Langka and 51/60 Samuk polling stations were identified as vulnerable.

The dispersal of polling personnel today at DEO/DC office complex was executed by Dr. N. Johnson Meetei, MCS, ARO/SDO Bungte Chiru, T. Opendro Singh, MCS, SDO Kangchup Geljang, Y. Sher Singh, MCS, AC to DC, James Pani, MCS, SDO Champhai and T.Waichong and Chungsai Khongsai, Election Officer who were assigned duty as Dispersal of EVMs, Dispatching of Polling Personnel, Reserve polling personnel at Multi-Purpose Hall, issuing of POL and issuing of meal coupon under the supervision of DEO/DC Kangpokpi, Somorjit Salam, IAS.

The 70 polling Stations of AC were divided into 12 sector where the DEO/DC Kangpokpi appointed one Sector Officer/Sector Magistrates and one Sector Police Officers for each sectors apart from appointing 21 Micro Observers.

Three Flying Squad Team (FST) and another three Static Surveillance Team (SST) were also formed apart from expenditure monitoring cell, video surveillance team, video viewing team, accounting team, complaint monitoring and call centre, medical team, media and Information in-charge, etc.

Close Menu