Crisis within NPP escalates: Dy CM Yumnam Joykumar Singh expelled for six years

Crisis within NPP escalates: Dy CM Yumnam Joykumar Singh expelled for six years

4 NPP Ministers not concerned about strengthening Party: Thangminlien

TMB Report

IMPHAL: The leadership crisis within the National People’s Party (NPP), Manipur state unit deepened as Deputy Chief Minister Y Joykumar was expelled by the group led by Thangminlen Kipgen on Wednesday.

The party’s state unit General secretary (Admin) Thongkam Haokip issued an order on Wednesday, affecting the expulsion of Y Joykumar, a legislator of the party from Uripok AC.

“On the recommendation of the Disciplinary Committee, NPP Manipur state unit, the president is pleased to expel Yumnam Joykumar Singh, MLA from the NPP, Manipur for six years under the constitution of the party. After his expulsion, Joykumar Singh ceased to be a primary member of the party with immediate effect,” the order stated.

Addressing reporters, NPP leader Thangminlen Kipgen, who had earlier been expelled by NPP national president Conrad Sangma, said, “Deputy CM Y Joykumar has been expelled from the party for six years as he had indulged in anti-party activities”.

The four NPP Ministers in the BJP-led coalition are not concerned for strengthening the party as they never made any effort to enroll new members of the party. Earlier, they were members of many parties. Denied party tickets on the eve of election, they joined NPP and fortunately got elected, Thangminlien said.

Joykumar misguided national president Conrad Sangma to destabilize the party. As such, based on the recommendation of the party’s Disciplinary Committee, the party decided to expel him from the party for six years, Thangminlien asserted.

In a statement, Thangminlen strongly reacted to the statement of Conrad K Sangma,  Chief Minister of Meghalaya and National President, NPP during a function in Naoremthong  on September 13, alleging that Sangma has planned a coup d’état in the party’s state unit.

NPP is no longer a national party now. In honour of former president (L) PA Sangma, who strove hard to strengthen the party, PA Sangma’s son, Conrad Sangma was elected president of the party. However, Conrad Sangma has dictated the party, Thangminlien said adding that NPP originated from the soil of Manipur. However, Conrad Sangma has misled the people, claiming that the party was founded by his late father. Such claim of Conrad is baseless. People should not be confused about the party as whatever they claim in media is baseless, the NPP leader said.

NPP, Manipur was founded in the year 1989 with K. Brajamohan Dev Sharma as founder President, Thangkholet Kipgen as founder Vice President and L. Shital as founder General Secretary. V Hangkhanlian, Goujadou, Thangminlien Kipgen, T Hangkhanpau, Y Joykumar, L Jayentakumar, Letpao Haokip and N Kayisi were elected on NPP tickets in the Assembly elections held in 1990, 1995, 2007 & 2017 respectively and were inducted in the Council of Ministers. However, the party was derecognized by the Election Commission of India after not fulfilling the minimum requirement in the year 2012.

V. Hangkhanlian, Minister (Agri & AH) along with Ch. Ajang Khongsai was elected as President and General Secretary in 2006 respectively. They had put up five candidates during 2007 Assembly election and out of which three got elected.  Thangminlien Kipgen who was one of the three was elected to the post of Chairman, Hill Areas Committee (HAC) which is a Constitutional post and held the post till the end of the term. The Election Commission of India on 5th May 2017 had recognized National People’s Party as a State Party in Manipur and it was allotted the book as a reserved symbol under the provision of the Election Symbols (Reservation & Allotment) Order, 1968.

Recounting the genesis of how late PA Sangma became president of the party, he stated that  PA Sangma, former Lok Sabha Speaker and former president, NCP leader, who expressed his desire to join the party,  requested for his enrolment into the Party. Accordingly, all the NCP MLAs of Meghalaya and Party organization leaders/workers under his leadership were merged to NPP during the month of August, 2012 at Shillong, Meghalaya. Further, his request to lead the Party and expand the Party throughout the length and breadth of the country as a President was accepted and he was consequently elected as National President on 15th September, 2012 with Ch. Ajang Khongsai as National General Secretary cum President, Manipur State Unit though the Party had not fulfilled the required criteria to become a National Party.

It may be mentioned that 4 MLAs from Rajasthan Assembly and two from Meghalaya Legislative Assembly were elected in 2013 on NPP ticket under Sangma’s leadership.

The letter No. NPP/HQ/EC-98/2019 dated14th May 2019 addressed to the Chief Election Commissioner, was wrongly quoted by the National Secretary, NPP with regards to the National General Body Meeting of the Party. The said General Body meeting was held on the 9th February, 2019 and not on the 19th February, 2019. The frequent referring of Party Constitution Articles by the National President in front of the Print and Electronic media and in his personal letters to the State President is unfounded and not a part anywhere in the Constitution. The said draft amended Constitution was neither made available to this Office nor ECI Website till date. Therefore, quoting of such Articles from the amended Constitution is not justified, he stated.

Regarding constitution of State Election Authority, 2020, he stated that the State Executive committee in its meeting held on 08.08.2020 has constituted a State Election Authority comprising of five members and scheduled the date of election on 25.08.2020, in the said meeting 4 (four) Legislators with Kh. Loken Singh of Wangoi A/C were absent and the rest of the Executive Members were present as per the Resolution Book of the Party. The State Presidential Election of NPP, Manipur State Unit was held as per schedule under Article No. 22 of the Party Constitution and after wide publication in the leading Local dailies on 18-08-2020 with an intimation to the Election Commission of India (ECI), New Delhi where  Thangminlien Kipgen was elected un-opposed as President of NPP, Manipur State Unit, he clarified.

The DO letter of  Conrad K. Sangma , National President, NPP dated 14th August 2020 clearly shows his intention of a coup d’état of NPP, Manipur State Unit. As per his whimsical plan, Thangminlien Kipgen, legitimately elected President of NPP Manipur State Unit along with some of the Office bearers was dismissed /removed by Conrad K Sangma vide his letter dated 24th August, 2020 by appointing his stooges who will always obey his whims for his conveniences, which is completely against the Constitution of the Party. The actual term and tenure of Thangminlien Kipgen expired on 26th August 2020 and not in the month of April 2020 as alleged by him, maintained Thangminlien.

‘The Modus Operandi behind the removal of the elected President and some of the State Executive Members is crystal clear that the NPP, Manipur which was founded in the year 1989 by K. Brajamohan Dev Sharma and his associates is now trying to be owned by Conrad K Sangma by attributing his late father PA Sangma as the founder of NPP by unscrupulous means. Now, it seems and looks like the Party is the property of Conrad Sangma and his family, which is very unfortunate and is a mockery to the PeopIe of Manipur state as a whole, he added.

Close Menu