ATSUM elects new executive members

ATSUM elects new executive members

TMB Report

IMPHAL: The All Tribal Students’ Union Manipur (ATSUM) conducted its general election for the tenure 2020-22  at Amity Hall, Adimjati Complex, Chingmeirong on Saturday in which 150 leaders representing ATSUM units, ANSAM and KSO general head quarter branches and different tribal students’ bodies from the hill districts of Manipur participated.

In a press release of ATSUM, signed by the presiding officer Lunsei Touthang and returning officer Adani David Choro it was stated that the assembly unanimously elected and declared Seiboi Houkip, Vanllalien Khaute, SR Andria, Micah Kamei and Henkai Singsit as the president, vice president, general secretary, assistant general secretary and finance secretary for the term 2020-2022.

 On the other hand, Kaikho Hopeson Mao, Khaiminlen doungel, Karang Paul,T.P. Dining, Lamcha Chongloi, Thangtinlen Houkip and AS Marakhai were elected for the posts of Secretaries of education, information and publicity, social and culture, forest and environment, sports and youths affairs, assistant secretary (education), assistant secretary (forest and environment) respectively.

Moreover, Lovejoy Shimrah was also newly appointed as the assembly speaker whereas Kakam Houkip and Malsawmthang Ralsun Hmar were elected as Deputy Speaker and secretary for the assembly affairs, ATSUM added.

According to the release, the oath of office was administered by Returning Officer, David Choro Adani to the elected executives. However, the handing over of office for the outgoing executives and newly elected executives will be held on September 20th at ATSUM office at 3.00 pm, ATSUM added.

Further, it added that the executive expansion will be carried out within 14 days by the newly elected executive body in consultation with the election commission and search committee.

Close Menu