Advantage Biren: BJP 3-0 Congress

Advantage Biren: BJP 3-0 Congress

BJP bags seats of Wangoi, Wangjing-Tentha, Saitu, Independent candidate wins Lilong Seat


IMPHAL: The ruling Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Tuesday scored an emphatic victory at the by-polls in the state bagging three out of the four seats, while an independent candidate bagged the other, after results were declared.

BJP won the seats of 34-Wangjing-Tentha AC, 22-Wangoi AC and 51-Saitu AC while the independent candidate bagged the 30-Lilong AC.

BJP candidate Oinam Lukhoi, the incumbent Agriculture Minister, secured the Wangoi seat by defeating his nearest rival Khuraijam Loken Singh of the National Peoples’ Party by a narrow margin of 257 votes.

Oinam Lukhoi secured 10,960 votes while his nearest NPP rival Khuraijam Loken secured 10,703 votes. Congress candidate Salam Joy ran third by securing 5,591 votes.

A total of 27,370 votes including 267 postal ballots were polled. Altogether 96 voters opted for NOTA.

Notably, in the last State Assembly election 2017 too, Oinam Lukhoi, who contested on Congress ticket then, won from Wangoi AC after defeating Khuraijam Loken by a narrow margin of 36 votes only. In view of the last poll result trend, NPP strongly campaigned for Loken in Wangoi AC with the hope of victory this time. 

In Wangjing-Tentha AC, Paonam Brojen of BJP trounced his nearest Congress rival Moirangthem Hemanta Singh by a margin of 1,513 votes. Brojen secured altogether 15321 votes while his nearest rival M. Hemanta bagged 13808 votes. Independent candidate Sarangthem Manaobi could secure only 331 votes. For this AC, of the total 29474 votes polled in 43 polling stations, 14 postal ballot votes were rejected while 159 votes went to NOTA.

In 30- Lilong AC, independent candidate Y Antas Khan won the Lilong seat by defeating his nearest rival and ex-minister Md Abdul Nasir by a significant margin of 3,078 votes.

It is worthy to note that Md Abdul Nasir is an independent candidate, supported by the BJP government led by Chief Minister N Biren Singh. Nasir won from Lilong AC on a Congress ticket in the last State Assembly election but he recently resigned from the MLA post and from the primary membership of the party to support the BJP government that was on the verge of collapse due to Congress onslaught to topple it. Though Nasir supported the BJP government, he did not join the saffron brigade but opted for contesting the by-poll as an independent candidate.

Of the total 31,276 valid votes polled, independent candidate Y Antas Khan secured 17,106 votes while his independent rival candidate Md Abdul Nasir bagged 14,028 votes. Congress candidate Md. Azizul Haque Khan secured only 142 votes, which is even lesser than the NOTA that bagged 153 votes. A total of 31,440 votes were polled in 49 polling stations in Lilong AC, of which 11 votes were rejected while 153 voters opted for the NOTA. 

BJP candidate Ngamthang Haokip could secure the Saitu seat by defeating his nearest Congress rival Lamtinthang Haokip by a huge margin of 12,114 votes. BJP’s Ngamthang Haokip bagged 24,394 votes while his nearest Congress rival Lamtinthang Haokip secured 12,250 votes. 117 votes went to NOTA.

In the by-poll, ruling BJP contested in three Assembly constituencies, viz. Wangjing-Tentha, Wangoi, Saitu and supported independent candidate Md. Abdul Nasir in Lilong AC, who lost at the hand of independent candidate Y Antas Khan.

Congress, which once ruled the state for 15 years from 2002 to 2017, fielded in all the four seats but got defeated without securing any seat in the by-poll.

BJP’s Ginsuanhau had earlier won 60-Singhat AC unopposed after his independent rival withdrew his nomination paper.

Just before the Bye-Elections 2020, the strength of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly was reduced to 47 with 13 MLAs either having resigned or being disqualified from the House.  Of the existing 47 members, the BJP and the Congress have 18 and 17 MLAs respectively, while NPP and NPF has 4 members each, one each of LJP and AITC along with one independent and an unattached member.  The present BJP-led government is being supported by four MLAs each of NPP and NPF, one each of All India Trinamool Congress (AITC) and Lok Janshakti Party (LJP), one Independent and one unattached member.

However in the run-up to the Bye-Elections 2020, BJP has added two more MLAs into its account with the election of one unopposed BJP candidate Ginsuanhau Zou from 60-Singhat A/C and another BJP candidate of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly Elections 2017 Mayanglangbam Rameshwar, by virtue of the High Court of Manipur’s verdict declaring election of Y. Surchandra from Kakching A/C as null and void. As the results of the Bye-Elections to four A/Cs declared today, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has consolidated its strength by winning three of the four seats – 22-Wangoi A/C, 34-Wangjing-Tentha A/C, 51-Saitu (ST). The result of the Bye-Election to 30-Lilong A/C has gone in favour of Y. Antas Khan. With seven vacant seats in the house of 60 members, the present effective strength of the 11th Manipur Legislative Assembly now stands at 53 with BJP having 23 MLAs, INC with 17, four each of NPP and NPF, one each of LJP and AITC and one unattached member. The number of independent members has increased to two.

Lilong AC by-poll a Govt-Public fight: Antas Khan

Independent candidate Y Antas Khan who won the Lilong seat said that the by-poll in the Assembly constituency was a fight between the people and the government and his victory was a victory of the people of the constituency.

Replying to a media query regarding the development works to be taken up there, Antas Khan said Lilong AC will see some remarkable developmental changes within two to three months.

I believe in practical works rather than delivering lip service. I will show practically what I think to work for the people. For Lilong AC, it is an election of unity and prosperity.

Replying to another query whether he would remain as an independent MLA or support the government, he insisted on waiting and watching before making a decision. “Time will tell. An MLA, whether he belongs to the ruling or opposition, can do a lot for the people,” he added.

BJP candidate Paonam Brojen who won the Wangjing-Tentha AC showed his gratitude to the people of his AC who supported him in the by-poll.

He said that he would give all possible effort to bring development and reach out the government welfare schemes to the people of his AC under the leadership of CM Biren and PM Narendra Modi.

BJP’s landslide victory in the by-poll, besides winning the Singhat seat unopposed, is a green signal for BJP’s massive victory in the upcoming State Assembly election 2022, he added.

He went on to say that he would give priority to developing irrigation facilities in his AC, for which he would take up ground water harvesting projects.

Close Menu